[Use this free self-help tool to quickly provide me with the necessary information for your Auto Quote. I will shop multiple companies for you. Unlike many other auto insurance websites you may have come across, Stephen B. Groton Insurance will NEVER sell your information. That means you get professional, accurate quotes without any sales hassle. Note: Complete all the fields in the auto quote form in order to get an accurate quote.]
Suggestion: Have your current auto insurance declarations page in front of you. That way, we can compare exactly what you have now to our auto quote. You may be surprised to find out that you are already getting a good deal.
Liability Bodily Injury and Property Damage: This is the basic coverage required by the State of California for all vehicles registered in California. Liability insurance covers you in case you hit someone with your car, and it’s your fault. Then your insurance company will pay the other guy up to the limits of your policy. In California, the minimum bodily injury liability coverage is $15,000 maximum per person. It will pay up to a maximum of $30,000 for bodily injury to all those hurt by you in the accident. Additionally your policy will pay the other person property damage to their car, trailer, house, fence, highway pole, etc. The CA State required minimum for property damage liability is $5,000. Those limits were established in CA long ago when $5,000 would replace a Cadillac. In your auto quote, you can, and should, get higher limits than the state minimum.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury and Property Damage coverage is also required by the State of CA. However, the State of California will allow you to waive it by signing a statement that you don’t want it. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage covers you and your passengers in case you are hit by an uninsured motorist and it’s their fault. Then your uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage does what the other guy’s insurance SHOULD have done, if he had any. It pays you and your passenger’s bodily injury, loss of wages, pain and any other economic or medical losses. Basic Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage pays up to $15,000 per person, to a total maximum of $30,000 per accident regardless of how many people were injured in your car. It will also pay up to $3,500 to fix your damaged vehicle. Just like the liability coverage, you can get higher limits in your auto quote if you wish.
Comprehensive and Collision: It is also called Physical Damage to Your Car coverage. It is NOT required by the state but may be required by the terms of your loan, lease or finance company. If you do not have a loan on your car, then this coverage is strictly optional for you. It is important coverage. It pays for damage to or loss of your car. Collision coverage applies when you have a collision, regardless of who is at fault. Comprehensive coverage applies to everything else (hence the word “comprehensive”: Fire, theft, earthquake, vandalism, glass breakage, falling objects, everything except collision. This coverage package fixes or replaces your car regardless of who is at fault. How much will it pay you? Usually for the market value of the vehicle at the time of the loss.